Onwards and upwards

The essay deadline finally arrived and I managed to submit everything on time – but in the process of writing the essay I took a huge confidence knock. I felt like I had no idea what to write and this hindered my studio practice a lot. I spent most of my time reading and gathering information for the essay I let it slide. Now it has been submitted I feel I can concentrate on getting on with experimentation and exploring these new ideas of mine. I have already started a few drawings but will start playing with making some sculptural models informed by my drawings once I’m back into the flow of creating and feeling more confident within myself.

I can’t say writing the essay has answered any questions in regards to my practice because my ideas are so new to me that I haven’t had time to do anything in order to question anything. But it has been helpful in giving me a lot of background in regards to how other women have explored similar themes in their practice and context of the subject  of weaving.

Leave a Reply

