The Still Trees

Andrei and Sergei Cosma - Forest of Romania
Andrei and Sergei Cosma – Forest of Romania

The silence and stillness of the trees.
They stand strong, roots firmly anchored to the ground.
From the earth they grow,
Towards the endless skies above.

I love this photograph, it’s beautiful yet eerie because I can sense a stillness (as I’ve written above) yet the trees stand like a colony, they branch out like veins in the sky. The mist or fog seals the air and the trees, it all seems to ephemeral. I adore how the leaves, although dead, are the only source of colour in the photo. I’m not sure why but they remind me of my drawings.

(Picture courtesy of Pleoros via Tumblr – http://pleoros.tumblr.com/)

Leave a Reply

