PROBLEMS!

26/02/15 – The Risk Assessment and Problems

Having sent the risk assessment off to Gavin, I wrote that I would drill holes into the ceiling so that my installation is suspended from the ceiling by fishing wire. However, Gavin got back to me and said no drills are allowed to be used in the space and so he suggested screwhooks. this caused a big concern for me as I’m not sure if it will hold my installation, he also asked me to weigh the perspex too. I went over to the wood workshops to see how I could overcome this problem and spoke to one of the technicians, who said it depends on the material of the ceiling and what is above the ceiling. He suggested that if it was plasterboard I’d have to make a scaffold or work out where the rafters are in the ceiling (usually 16-24 inches apart) to insert RAWL plugs that screw hooks can go in to that it will hold seeing as plasterboard isn’t strong enough. I informed him that I can’t use a drill to make a pilot hole so he isn’t sure what to advise me. This has caused me quite a lot of stress as I’ve spent a lot of money and time on this installation so I’m pretty determined to hang it. The technician also advised that I find out what material the ceiling is made of so I emailed Gavin, who then told me it was plasterboard and also planned to meet him the next day in order to work out how to go about hanging this. As for weight, I measured the whole sheet of perspex I didn’t use and that was 800g and the rest are a lot smaller so I’ve worked out the biggest semi-circle is around 700g.

Over the Weekend

I had a good research myself about a week ago as to hang my installation into the space myself so here are the links:

http://www.prettyhandygirl.com/hanging-ceiling-mounted-art/

http://www.ehow.com/how_5655610_hang-art-ceiling.html

There was another website which seems to have been shut down unfortunately.

As I now know the ceiling is plasterboard and that there are wires above it, I’m having to think more carefully about how I should do this. Gavin has told me the screw hooks will definitely hold the installation without a problem and as fishing wire is very sturdy I shouldn’t worry too much. However, I am so I spent this weekend trying to find different ways of hanging the installation, me and Roshai went from B&Q to Homebase and Wickes looking for various hooks and RAWL plugs, she couldn’t find any big enough to hold her sculpture installations either so we’re both having problems. I spent most of the weekend researching different methods of how to hang things from the ceiling and stressing out so I’ll just have to see what comes of this situation and whether Gavin is right in saying the ceiling will in fact hold my installation.

Over the Weekend

I had a good research myself about a week ago as to hang my installation into the space myself so here are the links:

As I now know the ceiling is plasterboard and that there are wires above it, I’m having to think more carefully about how I should do this. Gavin has told me the screw hooks will definitely hold the installation without a problem and as fishing wire is very sturdy I shouldn’t worry too much. However, I am so I spent this weekend trying to find different ways of hanging the installation, me and Roshai went from B&Q to Homebase and Wickes looking for various hooks and RAWL plugs, she couldn’t find any big enough to hold her sculpture installations either so we’re both having problems. I spent most of the weekend researching different methods of how to hang things from the ceiling and stressing out so I’ll just have to see what comes of this situation and whether Gavin is right in saying the ceiling will in fact hold my installation

2/3/15

Gavin couldn’t do last Friday so we met this morning to discuss how I was going to go about hanging my installation in the space, I explained to him how it would hang and how far away it would be from the light fitting for risk assessment reasons, he confirmed this would be fine and reassured me that the perspex will hold, he also explained I could add extra screw hooks from other points of the ceiling to balance out the weight of the heaviest semi-circle if I was concerned and that this should probably be the one that I hang first to see if the ceiling will support it. Other than that, everything is fine and I shall be going to collect the key tomorrow morning.

The plan for tomorrow is to start taking stuff over, firstly Ari’s 6ft. canvas which is going to be difficult as we’ll be taking it on public transport so I’m not sure how we’re going to go about doing this.

As for the rest of the afternoon, I attended the theory lecture and started on the collar piece me, Ari and Roshai wanted to do, I had drawn up a few ideas as to how I’d like the rope I’m working with to be stuck on, I let Ari paint the canvases first and also showed here my ideas, she liked them and we discussed how I could stick the rope on in a way that it connects the two canvases in conversation the previous week. As I was working on this Ari was helping Roshai cover her armatures with glitter as she was running really behind on schedule, this was a concern because I think Roshai needs the most time to hang hers up, speaking to her, she said she knows how to hang them having been advised by the technicians but in practice, she said she’s clueless.

Here’s what I’ve done so far with the canvases:

Leave a Reply

